Lots of new words in the dictionary. Hashtag. Selfie, .com. Since Facebook and social media have made it popular to post every mundane thing going on in one’s life, the whole social interaction thing has changed.

When I was in high school and college, the only way to connect with someone was in person or on the phone. And as most families¬†only had one phone line, and mother could listen in from another room, it wasn’t all that private.

Now that children have their own phones and know how to text with their thumbs by the time they are six, things have changed.

Last night I had dinner at the Olive Tree, a Greek restaurant. At the next table were four children ranging in age from three to five. One set of twins. Each child has his own phone. (my children would not have had their own phones, much less eaten Greek food when they were that age.)

When I was sixteen, I got my own Princess phone. It was blue and it lit up when it rang. I even had a separate line from my parents and I could talk in privacy and for hours.

I’ve only had a cell phone since I was sixty six and I still don’t know how to text with my thumbs. Oh, well, lots of seniors don’t even know how to use a computer.

Now that I have the new iPhone6, I am wondering what wonderful new features will be on iPhone 7.

