My how time flies. Seems like just yesterday. GWTW is almost as old as I am. One year younger. I have read the book and seen the movie many times. When I was in Atlanta twenty years ago, I went to one of the GWTW shops and bought a stand up Scarlett and Rhett cutout, which I still have on my curio shelf.

In the photo they look huge, but really are ‘paper dolls’  12 inches tall.

Photo on 9-29-14 at 10.31 AMThere are screenings in theaters or you can buy the DVD Blu Ray. I think it is better viewed on a large screen. To get the full scope.

Yesterday I went to the first (2 pm) screening here at the Dole Cannery theater. It always brings back memories when I go there. When I was a little girl we used to go to the real Dole Pineapple Cannery and get fresh pineapple juice.

The theater was quite full. I would say about 3/4. $12.50 for the ticket and well worth it. It is over a four hour movie, with Intermission. The coming attractions showed all the ‘live’ performances of events you can now see in a theater near you. Everything from the Metropolitan Opera to the Bolshoi Ballet. Hmmm. (I have actually been to the real Bolshoi ballet).

I doubt that you could buy tickets to the Ballet or the Opera for $12.50 (with free parking).

GWTW is a wonderful story of the South and the period of slavery and the end of slavery including of course the Civil War. A little gory at times, as it does show the wounded soldiers dealing with no bandages, medicine, or chloroform as they faced amputation and worse. But it is the love story for all times. And the hats are amazing.

This was the first color movie to win an Academy Award for Best Picture. This was 1939. It won a total of ten Academy Awards that year.

At the beginning of the movie, there is a special addition of a rather long quiz about Gone with the Wind facts. Most of which I knew, as I am a huge fan of Scarlett and Rhet. But what I didn’t know, is that Hattie McDaniel, who plays Mammy, won an Oscar for best supporting actress, but she wasn’t invited to the premier because she was black. (She was the first Afro American to win an Oscar.)

Many black people boycotted the film, as it portrayed most of the slaves as a happy lot.

I also read somewhere that in 1939 the United States population was 132 million and 56 million planned to see this movie. I expected the audience to be ‘older’ folks, but it was a total mix of ages and genders. It is a great way to teach your mid school child US history, so they can better understand the Civil War.

And if you want to get really thrilled, just watch that famous Clark Gable kiss.search

The movie ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ opens February 15, 2015 and I wonder if it will be around 75 years from now. Or any movie of this century so far?

