I always thought People magazine was something to read in the beauty parlor, but when I got a gift subscription and started reading it regularly once a week, I realized it was much much more.

I have learned about books and movies and events that I would never in a million years have known about. But this issue, the one with the Big Bang folks on the cover, had something really fun.

There is a famous restaurant in New York City that has been serving great desserts since 1954. Their most well known one is called Frozen Hot Chocolate. I had actually heard of this, but didn’t know you could make it at home.

Here is the recipe, thanks to the last page of People Magazine under heading called Great Ideas.

1/3 cup dry evap. milk (I used Coffeemate)

1/3 cup sugar

4 T cocoa (not sweeteneed)  mix together in bowl. In blender put one cup milk, dry mix and three cups of crushed ice. Blend for about thirty seconds.

Serves 2 or 3

Pour into bowl, top with whip cream and chocolate shavings and serve with a spoon. Careful. It is very, very cold and will freeze your brain.

p.s. this is similar to a Wendy’s Frostee. But there is no Wendy’s in Honolulu. And this probably doesn’t have anything too terrible in it. (sugar)

