I just received the coziest ‘blankie’. I know you think in Hawaii, where it is always 80 degrees, who needs a blankie?

Well I live in an air conditioned 24/7 condo. And I have a thing for roses.

Photo on 7-10-14 at 4.15 PM

It all started about five years ago. I got a catalog in the mail from a company called Victorian Trading Company. Everything was antique looking, vintage style clothing and beautiful hats and even things for the home. This blanket, called a ‘Woman’s Blanket’, caught my eye. It was $59.95 plus shipping to Hawaii of around $10. (it is on page 84 in online catalog), but you may want to look at the whole catalog. It is really full of unusual beautiful items.

So I didn’t order it. Then some time later, I got another catalog. Same scenario. This went on for about five years.

A month ago I got another catalog. This time there was a big promotion: $2 flat rate shipping on all orders from this catalog (except furniture).

So I ordered it and it came today. It is so yummy and light as a down feather, I am just sorry I waited so long.

p.s. This is sort of a cream with beige/gold roses and cream silk binding. It also comes in white with pink roses and rose silk binding. This is in no way to be confused with the plush throws at Walmart and Ross. A totally different animal.

It is the perfect thing to throw over when reading in bed or watching TV on a chilly night. And if  you are looking for a gift for someone who has everything, I bet she doesn’t have this.

 

