I haven’t written a blog in quite a while, but this new fangled idea ‘got me’ and I had to share with my Dear Readers.

I can remember when banks were only open 10-3 and until 6 on Fridays. I can remember when nobody knew how to use an ATM machine. I can remember when my ATM pin was 1,2,3,4.

So now there is online banking, paperless statements and the latest attraction: How to deposit a check by simply taking a picture of it with your cell phone.

I saw a commercial for Bank of Hawaii, showing how easy it is to just take a photo of a check and deposit it into your account. Simply put the app on your phone and follow the simple directions.

So I tried it. First I installed the app boh.com on my iPhone. But it wouldn’t let me sign in.

Uh Oh, You have to first set up online banking on your computer. This involves answering lots of questions and figuring out a user ID that contains 8-32 letters and at least two numbers. Then a password that includes at least one number. This is supposed to be something easy for you to remember, but hard for anyone else to figure out.

And it is recommended that you change your password every three months. Sure.

OK> Did that. Now I went to phone and guess what? You have to sign into your online banking account on your computer first time, to set your password.

So I did that. But there are still more hoops.

Now back to phone. I signed in, answered security questions and hit Deposit. It said to lay check flat on dark surface with good light. Done and done.

It says there will be a $.50 charge for a deposit made this way, and only checks up to $1000 can be deposited by phone. Also you can only withdraw $200 today and then it takes four days to withdraw balance.

Plus you have to put special deposit code above your signature on the back.

Now I took a photo of front of check, being very careful to make sure it was ‘between the four corners indicated’.

Whoops. That was the front. Now to do the back, I was turned back to sign in, etc. and at this point I decided it was simpler to drive over to the bank, park, go inside and cash my check.

So until they can figure out a simpler way to do this, I will still bank the ‘old fashioned way’. Through my ATM.

