I know this sounds just awful, but when I read the recipe in the morning newspaper I just had to try it. It was in a food column by one of my favorite ‘cooks’, so I thought ‘how bad could it be?’

She even said if it wasn’t all eaten up in three days, she would be amazed.

Well that’s not what happened. I bought the bacon and the fresh Jalepenos. I even drove all the way to Whole Foods to get the perfect Jalepenos. ($4.99 a pound. But three came to $1.26).  Carefully seeded the latter, being very careful not to touch my eyes.

I gathered up the other ingredients: white sugar, brown sugar, apple cider vinegar, onion, and salt.

Then lots of pulsing in the Cuisinart, cooking and cooling and then more pulsing. Finally the big moment. Ta Da.

Yuck.

Maybe it will be better when it is chilled. So I put it in a Tupperware and later tried some on a Triscuit cracker spread with cream cheese.

Not much better, but decided to give it ‘overnight’ to develop. So this morning I spread some on half a bagel and it was even worse than I remembered it.

So down the drain it went. Total cost about $10, time, about one hour. I guess I’ve wasted $10 and one hour of time at sometime in my life over the past 75 years.

And I think I’ll just stick with Smucker’s Strawberry Jam. (Now the $5 price tag seems more than fair). And if I get the urge to have bacon in my jam, I can always cook up some and crumble it into the already made jam. Maybe I have’invented’ something. Let’s see, Bacon/Strawberry or Bacon/orange marmalade?

They say, don’t try this at home. But I think you couldn’t go wrong with crumbling one piece of bacon on top of a piece of toast that had been spread with the jam of your choice. Could be a taste sensation.

