I have been enjoying Audible.com for a couple of years now. This site offers over 100,000 book titles from all categories.

Initially the charge is $7.49 a month for three months and then goes to $14.95 a month. If you cancel at this point, you will be offered a ‘special’ to continue.

I like to read books with real paper pages too, but this is so nice when you are driving or your eyes are tired.

I am currently ‘reading’ (listening) to a terrific book called The Husband’s Secret. At first I was put off by the Australian accent  of the narrator, but now I really enjoy it.

The story takes place in Melbourne and Sydney, Australia. It explores the lives and minds of several women, whose lives intersect.

The Husband’s Secret refers to a letter that a husband wrote to his wife to be opened upon his death. Unfortunately the wife finds the letter while the husband is still very much alive.

I haven’t finished the book yet, but I can hardly put it down. I have lots of things to do today, including a trip to Costco, but I would really rather just go back to bed and turn on my Kindle and see what happens next.

If you are thinking of joining Audible, I will suggest Gone Girl for your first book choice. There are two narrators. Julie Whelans is the wife and she is The Best. The husband of the Gone Girl is also excellent and the story is fabulous.

I also enjoyed The Poisonwood Bible, which I had read in regular paper form and liked even better on Audible. The company really selects the perfect narrator for each book. This one is about a family of Southern Baptists who go to the Belgian Congo in the 50’s to Christianize the natives. The story is told from the point of view of the mother and her four daughters. Each chapter, a different person.

So, if you haven’t already discovered Audible.com, take the plunge. You won’t be sorry.

