Friday I am flying to Las Vegas. This is my very favorite place to go for vacation. Just four or five days and it is always perfect.

How could a place that has great restaurants, shopping and gambling, not be. And of course the shows.

I was just there for my 75th birthday in March. That was a swanky trip, staying at Paris, Las Vegas. This one will be more low key.

I am taking a Vacations Hawaii charter package. If you never have done this, it is a very economical fun way to go to Las Vegas. For one price, you get round trip airfare on Omni airlines, your hotel room and two or three meals a day. (depending on the hotel you choose).

A large tour bus takes you to the hotel when you land and back to the airport when you leave. Your luggage is delivered to your room and also picked up. Very hassle free.

There are four hotel choices. Three are downtown including the California. I usually stay at the Orleans, as it is ‘near the strip’ but not on it.

I like the restaurants at the Orleans. There is Big Al’s Oyster Bar, The Loft for Prime Rib and Canal Street for fine dining. Then there is a good coffee shop that also has Chinese food.

Fridays and Subway are two places that are good for lunch, and of course the Market Buffet, which is included twice a day.

Going to Vegas used to be a bargain vacation. Not any more. It is not unusual for rooms to cost between $200 and $300 a night and dinner can easily run $50-$150 a person.

So when the Vacations Hawaii package is $799 including airfare,  hotel, meals and transfers for a five day vacations, that is pretty good.

There is also a person in charge of each group, so if you have any special needs or concerns, there is someone to call.

My best friend lives in Las Vegas, and she has been keeping me posted with weather reports. Of course I can get daily reports right on my phone. Today was only 100 degrees, but it is predicted that it will be 105 by the weekend.

I don’t plan on spending much time outside.

