Fifty years ago my grandmother died. And with her, the recipe for her chocolate chip cookies. She never wrote it down.

I have tried every chocolate chip cookie recipe under the sun these past fifty years and until today, I had never quite made cookies as good as grandma.Photo on 5-28-13 at 11.11 AMI just noticed that I happen to have on chocolate colored nail polish. A total coincidence.

While in Costco one day, I decided to try their Kirkland Chocolate Chips. 3.5  lb bag. Today I was reading the back of the bag and there was a recipe for Old Fashioned Chocolate Chip Cookies. Oh, well, what the heck?

Voila! The perfect cookie. Crispy around the edges and chewy inside.

Preheat oven to 375

2/3 cup mixture of 1/2 cup butter and the rest shortening (crisco). ( I didn’t use butter, but I Can’t believe it’s not butter). I’m sure they would have been even better if I had used a cube of unsalted real butter.

Cream butter with 1/2 cup granulated and 1/2 cup brown sugar, one egg and 1 1/4 teas. vanilla. Mix thoroughly. Add 1/2 teaspoon each salt and soda. Mix. Then slowly add 1 2/3 all purpose flour till mixed. Then add one cup of choc chips.

1/2 chopped nuts are optional. Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t.

I also added a spoonful of milk as the dough seemed a little stiff. Drop by teaspoons on greased cookie sheet. Bake about twelve minutes. Remove and put on paper towels, which absorbs the excess fats. I made about three dozen cookies out of this recipe.

They are so good, I think I just ate about six.

By the way, here is a household hint. When you unwrap that cube of butter or margarine, keep the paper wrapping and put it in your refrigerator. When you have to ‘grease’ a cookie sheet or pan, just whip out your already pre greased perfect size waxed paper and then just toss.

