Many years ago, I always wore Ferragamo shoes. The style was a mid heel pump with a grosgrain bow to match. I had black, red and navy. When I wore these shoes, they were expensive at $150 a pair.

Today I only have one pair, sort of a saddle brown leather with a brown bow. I found this pair at the Salvation Army. Almost brand new and only $35. And my size, size 8 1/2 C.Photo on 5-9-13 at 9.53 AM

At first I wasn’t ‘sure’ about the color, but for $35, I’m glad I took the plunge. It actually goes with just about everything and even looks good with black, which I wear 90% of the time.Photo on 5-9-13 at 10.08 AM

In 2007, the company came out with the same shoe but in a ballet flat style. You can have your choice. I think this is the perfect shoe for work or play. Extremely comfortable and if you are going on a vacation this will take you from day to evening. home-field-1 home-field-2

Now that this is the anniversary of these shoes being around for about 35 years, the website http://www.ferragamo.com will let you design your very own pair. You can choose the material, color, bow color, size, width and heel height. The $550 price includes shipping to anywhere in the United States.

And there is even a metal plate on the bottom with the wearers initials. If I were going to buy a pair, which I am not, I would choose the black patent leather with the red heel and red bow.

