They say ‘Woman’s Work is Never Done’. So when I got this email today from a girlfriend, I just had to share it with you Dear Readers.

I think this is perfect. And so true. Many women today have jobs outside the home and then when they come home, they have to fix dinner, get the children ready for bed, straighten up the kitchen etc.

I was first married in 1957. In those days husbands did not help one bit with anything domestic. In the fifteen years I was married to my first husband, he never once washed a dish, folded a towel, helped with the children or in any way pitched in.

My second marriage was to a man in his fifties. He certainly did not do any of these things. Third time’s a charm. Now it was the 80’s. Men were more liberated and it wasn’t considered too feminine to wash dishes or fold laundry. Yeah.

This next generation will probably just issue a text command into their iPhone, which will be permanently implanted in their wrist at birth. They will say something like ‘do laundry’ or ‘wash dishes’ and Voila.

I know there are some men out there who pitch in and help, but they are few and far between.

For example, my daughter doesn’t ‘work’ any more, but she is extremely busy all day long with charitable activities and children’s activities. Her husband (my son in law) is the greatest dishwasher filler in the world. He is a lawyer, with a full schedule, and yet he manages to do this.

I wish he would come and load my dishwasher. I have never been great at this chore. And unloading it is probably my least favorite task.

Actually I take that back. My least favorite task is folding laundry. If I get it out of the dryer while it is still warm, it’s not so bad, but if it sits a while, I often run it through the whole wash/dry cycle again so things won’t be wrinkled.

I can’t believe I used to iron everything for husband and three children. When permanent press and wash and wear came on the market, that was a real blessing.

Otherwise I would probably still have a pillowcase of damp sprinkled laundry in my refrigerator. (In Hawaii that was a must, due to the heat/humidity). If you left damp clothes at room temperature, they would get mildewed.

And you know it’s been a while since you ironed, if you still have a pillowcase of sprinkled clothes in your refrigerator, you open the bag and find baby clothes. And your youngest child is 35.

Remember the clothes sprinkler? This was a bottle with a cork and metal top. the top had holes in so you could sprinkle your clothes. There was no such thing as a steam iron. To really steam, you wet a washcloth, wrung it out, put it over the spot you wanted to steam, and then went over it with your dry iron.

