This is a repeat, but I was looking up the recipe to make this again and decided to share it with my readers, in case you didn’t see it a couple of years ago, when I first posted it. Or if you did, here goes:

Martha Stewart ‘Living’ February 2011, Featuring Hot Fudge Sauce

My favorite dessert of all time is a hot fudge sundae. I have tried many recipes for hot fudge sauce, so I consider myself something of an expert.

I have tried melting a king size Hershey bar with almonds into a cup of heavy cream (whipping cream) that you have heated on stove, and this is pretty good. Also Smucker’s Hot Fudge in a jar is not bad. But this recipe in Martha’s current issue tops them all.

When I got this magazine I started salivating. I couldn’t wait to make this hot fudge sauce. I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand so I had to put it off for a couple of days.

The biggest problem with this recipe is finding it in the magazine. The photo is on page 112, but the recipe is on page 166. There is nothing to steer you to that page, you just have to search.

But the search was worth it. First bring 1 1/4 cup of heavy cream and half a stick of unsalted butter to a boil over a medium slow heat. (I only had one cup of cream, so I used some half and half for the rest). You could probably use 1/4 cup of canned milk. Then you add 2/3 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup light corn syrup and stir till sugar dissolves.

(Meantime in the food processor, chop up two bittersweet chocolate bars to make one cup. I couldn’t find bittersweet, so I used one dark semi sweet Cadbury 3.5 oz bar and two squares of unsweetened baking chocolate. Recipe calls for six ounces or one cup chopped.)

After the sugar dissolves, sift in one cup of Dutch cocoa powder and 1/8 teas. salt. I used Hershey’s and that was just fine. Whisk this in till smooth.  Add chocolate and stir till melted. Then add 2 teaspoons vanilla extract.

The recipe said to serve immediately, so even though it was only ten a.m., I made myself a hot fudge sundae. Sort of an oximoron, but I used fat free ice cream by Bryers.

The other choice would have been to keep the sauce hot in the top of a double boiler over simmering water. I don’t have a double boiler and I wasn’t planning on serving this till tomorrow, so I just poured it into a tupperware container and now I have a nice amount of hot fudge sauce in my refrigerator.

The closest hot fudge to this I have ever tasted was at The Brown Derby in Hollywood. They served their hot fudge in a little individual pitcher alongside the plain vanilla ice cream in a glass bowl.

For you readers who are not experts at making a hot fudge sundae, here are a few pointers. First, if you have an actual glass ice cream glass like they used to serve at the ‘counter’, that is perfect. But if not, just make sure you serve it in a glass container, not plastic.

Make sure fudge is HOT and pour a little in the bottom, then two scoops of vanilla ice cream and then top with lots of hot fudge sauce. Hagen Dazs is best, but any vanilla ice cream is OK. You can top with a squirt of Reddi Whip and a cherry or some chopped almonds if you want to get fancy.

Another of my favorite versions is a Hawaiian style that was made famous by Canlis restaurant, which is no longer in Hawaii. This sundae was served in a stemmed stainless steel dish. Two scoops rich vanilla ice cream, topped with hot fudge, chunks of fresh pineapple and freshly grated coconut.

For those of you on the mainland, you could probably get a similar effect using a can of Dole pineapple chunks in juice/drain juice. Or you could find a bag of fresh frozen pineapple chunks in the freezer case. Maybe.

Since freshly grated coconut is impossible to find even in Hawaii, and actually grating a coconut is a lot of work, you have my permission to use the angel flake coconut in the baking section. The one in the can is better than the bagged variety, but I haven’t seen this in a long time.

If you like a banana split, that is pretty easy. It really looks a lot better in an oval glass dish, called a banana split dish. Just slice a banana the long way/and in half if you are making two sundaes and only have one banana. The real way is with chocolate, vanilla and strawberry ice cream and three toppings including marshmallow.

I make a banana Royale which is just banana, vanilla ice cream and Hot Fudge. And this is fine in a regular dish.Whatever your favorite style, I hope you enjoy the recipe for the sauce.

