I have always loved Mango Chutney. For years I always bought Major Grey’s. Then I discovered the one at the Punahou carnival and that became my favorite. Now this costs $8 a jar and each jar is about a cup.

It never occurred to me to make my own. It always seemed like it would be a huge undertaking and I would need an enormous pot to cook it in.

If you want to try this recipe, but don’t have mangoes where you live, you could probably make this with sliced peaches. Easiest is to buy a couple of bags of frozen sliced peaches and Voila!Photo on 3-3-13 at 2.58 PM

Lo and behold, while looking through an island cookbook, there was the famous Punahou mango chutney. What I especially like is that this is cooked in the oven in an open roasting pan, stirring every so often.

The name of the cookbook is The Island Plate, 150 Years of Recipes and Food Lore from the Honolulu Advertiser. Compiled by Wanda A. Adams, food editor. Kinau Wilder’s recipe on page 113.

This is a terrific cookbook and there are wonderful recipes for banana bread and teriyaki chicken. Also Macaroni salad and other island favorites.

While the original recipe calls for 24 cups of mangoes and I only had four, I had to do some dividing. I simply made one quarter of all the ingredients. Such as 1/2 cup of vinegar instead of a pint, and two cups of raw sugar instead of five pounds.

But here is the original recipe and you can halve it or quarter it. I also didn’t have mustard seeds, so I used ground mustard by Coleman’s. And I didn’t have Hawaiian salt, so I used kosher salt. I’m sure it will be fine.

One pint of vinegar (2 cups)

15 small hot red Hawaiian chili peppers (I used three and wow are they ever hot)

1 whole head of garlic peeled

5 thumb size pieces of fresh ginger peeled.

Handful of Hawaiian salt

One teaspoon each of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice and cloves

1 tablespoon mustard seed

3 lemons peel on and seeded. Finely sliced

24 cups of sliced semi ripe mangoes

5 pounds of raw sugar

1 pound of seedless raisins

Preheat oven to 375. Place vinegar, garlic, chilies and ginger in blender or food processor and chop up. Add seasonings and lemons and chop again. Combine this mixture, with mangoes, sugar and raisins and cook in an uncovered roasting pan for three hours, stirring whenever you think of it.

Store in refrigerator for up to several months or place in sterile jars and can in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes. This is terrific with curry or as a nice addition to a boring chicken dinner.

