I have always enjoyed shopping at a Forever 21 store. Here in Honolulu there is a beautiful very large store in Waikiki. The parking lot is very far and inconvenient. However on the plus side is the fact that it is right next door to the Cheesecake Factory.Photo on 1-30-13 at 4.10 PM  Their shopping bags are easy to spot.

There has been a branch at the shopping center across the street from where I live, but it was very small and had a poor selection of clothes. So Forever 21 closed their 7000 square foot store and opened a two story 35,000 square foot one in the same mall.

It was supposed to open on Black Friday, but it didn’t. The downstairs part opened on Christmas Eve and the upstairs opened this week.

I thought it would be packed on opening day, so I waited until today to check it out. I was amazed to find the store with more sales people than customers. The check out stand had five cashiers and nobody was in line except me.

I always like their costume jewelry. Usually their styles look very expensive and yet range from $3.80 to $12.80. I bought a necklace that looked like something I saw in Vogue for $600. $12.80.Photo on 1-30-13 at 3.32 PM #2I liked it the minute I saw it. Plus I knew it would totally hide the scar from my open heart surgery.

I may go check out the Waikiki store and see if they don’t have this same necklace in another color. There was black, which would be OK, as I wear a lot of black.

As for the rest of the store, there are some severe design flaws. One is that on the walls at about seven foot height are metal racks sticking out. These have the cutest clothes, but they are totally unreachable by anyone, unless they were a professional basketball player.

Since Hawaii has a very large Oriental population, and a large Japanese tourist population, having racks so high seems ridiculous. Even for a person of average height, it would be impossible to reach.

Of course you can’t see the sizes, as the tags are buried, and so you have to find someone with a long metal hook to bring down about ten items, sort through to find your size and then go to the dressing room.

The largest size this store carries is a Large. Their large is actually a medium and the medium is a small. The small probably would fit a size 2 or 4. Waikiki carries a Woman’s Department with sizes 14/16.

I did find a cute sweatshirt @$19.80 and a nice shawl, $8.80. All their prices seem to end in .80. Wonder why?

The store has great looking purses in the $19.80-$32.80 price range. Lots of cute shoes, both very high and totally flat.

There is a men’s department that looks to be strictly for the young man crowd. Lots of denim, jackets, and narrow ties. Young, hip and skinny is a must.

I was probably the oldest person in the store, but you don’t have to be 21 to shop there. It would be a great place to shop to put together an outfit to go to a nightclub or dancing. For less than $100, you could get dress, shoes, purse, jewelry, lingerie and look great!

Also, the latest fashion for ‘spring’ is evening shorts. They have a large selection of these in ‘leather’, tweed, lace and sequins. Many cute jackets to coordinate. Again, it you are young and slender, check it out.

