I remember when people said, ‘How Are You?’ when you met them. They may not have really meant it, but it was a form of greeting. Now everyone is just staring down at their phone and not even looking up.

People used to smile and say ‘Hello’ when you passed in the hall. Now it’s a big deal to even glance. I don’t think it has to do with getting older, it’s just the times.

I don’t know what happened to simple ‘social graces’, but about ten years ago they started disappearing. I see families at restaurants each with their own device, totally ignoring the others.

My grandson comes over for Sunday supper with earphones in his ears. We are getting to be like Dick Tracy, with his two way wrist radio.

The internet has become such a part of our lives, that it is actually possible to have an online romance with a virtual ‘woman’ who doesn’t exist. And that really happened.

I’m sure it’s not the first time, just the first time it has come to light with someone so famous. The Manti Teo story is practically old news by now. I’m sure it’s been preempted by the Super Bowl, the nightclub fire in Brazil and the Oscars.

In the paper today, it mentioned something very funny. In speaking of the Teo story, it was compared to having the same staying power as the story of the kitten that fell down the well. After a week or so, nobody really cares.

I’m sure the generation of today (is that the Y generation?) are totally used to this. Texting, iPhoning, hooking up, and whatever. It is what it is.

I’m just happy I had the experience of being invited to the school dance, being brought a corsage (or a lei in Hawaii), going on a real date, (where the boy came to the girl’s house and met her parents), having to be home at a certain time, a good night kiss and all with a real person.

