I have just had my very first experience with Online Banking. First step was opening the account. I transferred $500 into the account from my other bank. (Or so I thought)

Evidently there are lots of hoops that have to be jumped through before the transfer is actually made. When I got my ATM/Visa card in the mail, I checked my online account and found that the balance was $0.00.

I called B of A and was told how happy they were that I had called, put on hold for half an hour and then told to call my other bank. Before I actually phoned my other bank, I received the following instructions from B of A in the form of the ‘deposit’ letter below.

When I called my ‘other’ bank I found that the deposits made were for 23 cents and 36 cents. I then had to enter these amounts in a special e-mail fro Bank of America as proof of ?

But I did it! When you actually set up your B of A online account there are numerous checks for your ID. The cutest one is a picture that you personally choose and name. This appears when you sign in, and it is the final check to make sure you are you. Voila.

There are about ten pictures to choose from, such as carpet, house, chair, etc. Then you select the picture and name it. I can just see the designers of this website figuring this one out.

My favorite line is in the following letter. ‘You are just a few clicks away from transferring your opening deposit to your new account’.

em_logo email_checking_title
A Trial Deposit Has Been Successfully Made To Your UMB Bank, MMA Checking Account

Dear SANDRA:

You chose our trial deposit verification process to verify ownership of your UMB Bank, MMA Checking account(s) at Bank of America. We have successfully made trial deposits into this account for you.

You’re just a few clicks away from transferring your opening deposit to your new account(s). Here’s what to do next:

1.   Check with UMB Bank (by phone, ATM, or in-person) to identify the deposit and record the amount or amounts of the deposit. Deposits usually show as being from TRIALCREDT.

The deposit amount will be less than $10.00. In some cases, we may have made both a transfer in and a transfer out, but in these cases the amounts will be the same so that your account balance is unaffected.

2.   Sign in to Bank of America at https://funding.bankofamerica.com/jsp/oao/fn/relc/base/oao_application_retrieve_display.jsp?homeid=99992069 by entering the information requested. Follow the instructions provided to complete the process for transferring your opening deposit to your new account. Please reference your applicant ID # at the top of this email.

Once you complete the opening deposit process, the amount you chose to transfer will be credited to your new Bank of America account within 3 business days.
If you have any questions about your new account(s), please call customer service at 1.800.432.1000 (California 1.800.622.8731, Idaho and Washington 1.800.442.6680).

Thank you for giving Bank of America the opportunity to serve your banking needs.

And next…
We’ve Verified Your Trial Deposit Amounts
The trial deposit amounts you entered matched the information in our records. Your opening deposit will be transferred from the account at your other bank to your new Bank of America account. The money will be available in your new Bank of America account within 3 business days.

And finally: TA DA

Your Opening Deposit From UMB Bank, MMA Checking Has Been Processed

Dear Sandra:

This email is to confirm that the following opening deposit for your new Bank of America account has been processed:

Item :          93977734
Amount:          $500.00
From account:          UMB Bank, MMA Checking

To account name:     Bank of America,

If you have any questions about your new account(s), please call customer service at 1.800.432.1000 (California 1.800.622.8731, Idaho and Washington 1.800.442.6680).
Your Opening Deposit From UMB Bank, MMA Checking Has Been Processed

