One of my favorite apps on my iPhone is Words With Friends. It is like scrabble and very addictive.

I play it with Peter and he usually wins. It really makes you think. And it can be played anywhere, no pieces, no board to set up.

We always have about a dozen games going at once and it can take nearly an hour to do a full set. But if you like, you can just play one game at a time.

My daughter recently had surgery and is recovering at home. I suggested that she play this game to pass the time.

I have been sending lots of get well cards and have just about wiped out the supply here in Honolulu. So today I got a ‘brilliant’ idea. I made a get well card out of a print out of a Words game.Photo on 1-14-13 at 9.18 AMSherry   Get Well Soon   Love Kisses   Mother

How this is done: Print copy of game on photo paper. I used a full size sheet. Then with your computer, type out words in size 24 font in a style to match the letters on the game. HIRAGINO KAKU GOTHIC is the style I used.

When you type the words horizontally put two spaces between each letter. If you are typing vertically just go to the next line.

I printed this on yellow paper and cut out strips of words. Then I glued them over the correct length spaces with rubber cement.

Now I’ll have to find a large envelope and Voila!

I went to my ‘supply’ closet and found a stack of large envelopes I had bought about ten years ago. They were on sale because of the color, which I love. So I have 100 of these, or what is left now, (probably fifty).Photo on 1-14-13 at 9.45 AM

The prices for greeting cards now range from $1.99 to $5.99, with an average of $3.50. And it’s hard to find ‘just the right one’.

This was a fun project and if you need a get well card, (or any occasion card) and can’t get to the store, or don’t feel like that, just make one yourself.

It does take some time, but it is very personal and doesn’t cost a dime. Of course you have to have the app, the computer, the photo paper, rubber cement and stamps.

When I was Girl Scout, I took their motto to heart, Be Prepared.

