This past year has been quite a year for medical drama in my family. It began last August when my oldest daughter was diagnosed with breast cancer.

Three surgeries later she was all set to begin chemo.

I flew from Hawaii to Los Angeles to be there with her for her first chemo session, and I had a heart attack in the Los Angeles airport. I wound up in the hospital for a week.

Meanwhile Jody had every bad side effect in the books. (Not just losing her hair).

When she finally got through the chemo and radiation, with all the horrible side effects, I then was diagnosed with 95% blockage in my main artery and told that I would need to have open heart surgery and a bypass or CABG. Coronary Artery Bypass Graft.Photo on 9-23-12 at 8.12 AM #2

That took place in September, just two months short of the anniversary of my heart attack.

Then in December, my youngest daughter was diagnosed with breast cancer. What are the odds? She and her sister were both 51 years old.

Could it have been all the chemicals and preservatives in the food?

January 7 she underwent a double mastectomy and went home from the hospital on the 9th. On the 10th her surgeon called to tell her that they ‘got it all’ and she was clear. It hadn’t spread.

Our prayers were answered. No chemo or radiation. Whew. What a relief.

On Christmas Eve I had what is called pulmonary edema, as my lungs filled with fluid. This is caused by congestive heart failure or CHF. I had a nice ambulance ride to the emergency room. This time I wound up in the hospital over Christmas. Now I feel fine.photo_2Note Christmas place mat on food tray.

When talking to my older daughter, she felt that I had ‘won’ for the most harrowing health incident. I said, “I don’t know, I think it could be a three way tie”.

In any case, we are all strong, positive women and are dealing with these health issues. I think the most important things to have when faced with these types of medical crisis, is a positive state of mind and a great sense of humor.

To give you an idea: From December 22 to January 6, my ‘baby’ had to prepare for her surgery. She took a vacation, went out to lots of great restaurants and ate all the wonderful things she probably won’t be having for a while, if ever.

Then on the night before her surgery, her husband made her dinner. Cauliflower soup and as a side dish, beets and kale.

