There is a great column in the food section of our daily newspaper. People write in requesting a search for a ‘lost’ recipe or one they never really had.

This could be the stew they ate when they were in elementary school and now they are forty and longing for ‘that’ stew. Or it could be a jello mold somebody’s mother brought to a party in 1968.

Today it was for the Aikahi Chocolate Shortbread Cookies. Aikahi is a school and evidently these were served at lunchtime. In 1980, the parents and teachers put out a cookbook with favorite recipes from the school and this was in it. Voila!

Somebody’s brother in law had eaten the cookies and had the now out of print cookbook.

It is a pretty large recipe, and I wanted to make it, but I only had half a pound of butter (margarine), so I halved the recipe.

It’s pretty simple, so here goes. (and no salt, so my cardiologist will be pleased)

Preheat oven to 350

Cream together one pound of butter and 2 3/4 cups of sugar. Cream well in a heavy duty mixer.

Sift 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder with 5 1/4 cups of flour.Slowly add to butter/sugar mixture. This will be dry and crumbly. Add one teaspoon of vanilla, and mix.

Spoon out a small amount and roll into a ball about 1 to 1 1//2 inches and place on ungreased baking sheet. I use parchment paper. Press down slightly. Bake for 25 minutes.

Do not over bake. Cookies will firm up as they cool.  Makes about five dozen.

OK. I just got these out of the oven. They are very plain. Maybe if I had used real butter, they would have tasted more delicious. They are a nice basic cookie that would be improved with some frosting, or maybe as a base for an ice cream sandwich. If you plan to make ice cream sandwiches, then make the bigger ball and flatten it to a larger circle. (and if I didn’t have a heart condition, I would use real butter)

If I had eaten these in elementary school I probably would have loved them. Sixty five years later…

