Oh, my God! Yesterday I wrote about one of the ceiling panels in my gazebo blowing out due to our high winds. Today I called Sears home improvement to see about getting this repaired.photo

First I called the toll free number that the local Sears gave me for Sears Home Improvement. I was instructed to press #1 for siding, #2 for kitchen cabinets, #3 for appliances and #4 for everything else. I pressed #4. Wrong.

I got appliances. But first I had to give my name, phone and zip code. Then they disconnected me.

I called back. This time I pressed #1, and explained the situation.  After giving name, phone, zip code, I was transferred to someone else. (each time I gave my address, I had to spell it, as it is a Hawaiian street) Capital ALA Capital MOANA Blvd. (which means ‘by the ocean’)

They also asked for name, phone and zip code, however they said I should call Sears Installation Department, not the Home Improvement Department. The woman asked if I would like the phone number.

Of course I said ‘Yes’. Then after a long wait, she gave me the number, which I wrote down. Then she said, “Would you like me to connect you?”

Scream.

Now I got yet another department and after explaining the situation for the fourth time, giving name etc., she said she would transfer me to the Gazebo department.

I then explained all this for a fifth time and the person said she couldn’t find my records, and was this a local delivery? I said ‘Yes’, and she said she would phone the Sears store here in Honolulu and transfer me.

I explained that it was only 7:30 A.M. in Honolulu and I doubted that Sears was open. She had clicked me off, and when she came back she said, “I don’t understand, it says they are open at 9:30 A.M.”  She then suggested that I call the store later.

The good news about all this is that Sear’s installations are guaranteed for one year and we only had this installed a couple of months ago.

