Santa Peter gave me something for Christmas that has already made my life easier. A great pair of kitchen scissors. Now this may not sound like a ‘romantic’ gift, but he knows how much I like to cook and I will use these every single day. (This wasn’t my only present from Santa Peter)

These are not ordinary scissors. They are by Cutco and cost $100. And you can’t buy them in a store.

Today I had fun using them on a fresh turkey. I bought a 13 pound turkey and I always cut off the legs to make turkey roll/ups filled with stuffing. This requires carefully cutting away the legs from the body and not cutting into the skin, so it can be tucked in. Otherwise you have two gaping holes.

The object is to wind up with about six pieces of dark meat that is free of any skin/bones/cartilage. It is then rubbed with thyme and pounded thin with a meat hammer. I usually let them sit in a baggie in the fridge for a day before I use them.

The chunks of turkey breast to the left of the leg, is what I cut off the bird to make the ground turkey for the chili.photo

If you have ever studied a turkey leg (from the inside), you will see that there are lots of membranes and cartilage strips that have to be cut away. If you try to do this with a knife, it takes ages. With my new scissors, it was lickity split.

I found a recipe for turkey chili in the Sunday paper. It called for one pound of ground turkey meat. So I snipped off some breast meat with my trusty scissors and ground it up in my meat grinder. I added a few scraps of dark meat from my leg cutting adventure and Voila. When you buy ground turkey it is about $5 a pound. I just used some of my real turkey, which was $1.99 a pound.

There is still plenty of white meat on the bird, and the thighs will be roasted for the dark meat lovers. I plan to cook this on New Year’s Day. I rub the turkey with Kona coffee rub, stuff with sprigs of fresh thyme and leave uncovered in the refrigerator for a couple of days. This ‘dries’ out the skin and makes it crisp.

Then all you have to do when you are ready to roast it, is to remove the thyme sprigs and rub it all over with olive oil. And of course stuff it first.

