Fortunately I did all my Christmas shopping during the year and mailed everything early. I knew I would be on vacation from the 15th to the 22nd, and the last day to mail packages was December 18.

When I got home all I needed to do was to go to the market. I decided that Costco would make sense for some holiday dinner food. The parking lot was a zoo. The store wasn’t too bad, and they had almost everything I needed.

They were out of onions and stuffing, so I went to Safeway. They had onions, but the stuffing shelves were bare.

So I went to Foodland and they only had Stove Top stuffing mix by Kraft. I decided to make it from scratch. When I got home, I hit the internet for some stuffing recipes.

There are two ways to do this. One calls for fresh non toasted bread torn in pieces and the other uses cubes of baked bread.

One recipe had chopped apples, sugar and cider for the liquid. That sounded disgusting to me.

So it will probably be the baked bread one, with my usual additions of saute’ed onions, celery and lots of spices. I am old school and like the stuffing inside the turkey.

We usually open presents on Christmas Eve, but Santa doesn’t come till Christmas morning, so that is when we open our stockings.

Macy’s is open 48 hours starting yesterday, so if I think of anything I absolutely can’t live without, I can always run across the street at three o’clock in the morning.

