I love doing jigsaw puzzles. However there are some drawbacks. I don’t have a table for a permanent set up. Just my dining room table, which means I have to keep ‘putting it away’.

When I was a little girl, my mother loved jigsaw puzzles and we always had a special table and chairs in the living room with a jigsaw puzzle in progress. It was nice to sit down and just do a few pieces. I don’t have this ‘luxury’ today.

I just discovered a great solution: thejigsawpuzzles.com. This is a free site with thousands of puzzles to choose from. All you have to do is a simple registration and then you can choose which puzzle you feel like doing.

There are great features, such as you can click on puzzle to have only the edge pieces showing, for an easier start. You can enlarge the puzzle to full screen. You can choose puzzles with as few as 50 pieces or go with their usual 100-150 pieces.

There is a menu that is full of good hints to read. Also a timer, that you can pause. All in all, this is a very cool addition to my ‘things to do’.

This is not just a mindless pastime, but doing puzzles is actually good for your brain. Plus it is impossible to think of anything else while you are doing this, so it is a good break from the constant whirring in your mind of mundane things you have to do.

There are so many catagories, there is something for everyone. Cars/bikes, bridges, flowers, castles, animals, food, scenery, and more. And if you can’t choose, there is the puzzle of the day.

My goal is to do one puzzle a day. Right after I write my blog. Gee, if I had started doing this when I started writing my blog I would have done 757 puzzles so far.

Cars-and-Bikes

BridgesFlowersCastlesKids-PuzzlesFood-and-BakeryFruits-and-Veggieshttps://sandyconrad.wordpress.com/?attachment_id=12830

