I love Gift With Purchase, or GWP. I always get my cosmetics when the various lines are having a GWP. Usually it is a good deal. You spend $30 or so on something you use anyway and get about $100 worth of extra goodies.
So when I got an email about a GWP at the Ala Moana Shopping Center just across the street from where I live, I thought I would check it out.
Hang a little holiday cheer with our exclusive 18″ keepsake “Big Santa” Stocking.
see details >
While supplies last. Limit one gift per person. Receipts must be dated 11/10/2012 – 12/24/2012 and redeemed within the same time period at the Customer Service Center. Must be 13 years of age or older to participate. Gift card purchases are excluded. No more than 3 individual receipts per store are allowed. Other restrictions may apply.
I think whoever thought up this promotion needs to have his head examined. True, you do have six weeks to spend $500, but the price will be offensive to many people, who are on a budget and still would like to qualify for a ‘free’ Christmas stocking.
I doubt if the actual cost of the giveaway could be more than $5, ($7 at the most) and I think a $100 purchase should be plenty. Most people will spend more than the minimum anyway.
I remember back about fifty years, when my family owned the largest jewelry store at Ala Moana, Security Diamond Company. Every year my father would go on TV to announce that during the week before Thanksgiving, anyone who made a purchase of $69.95 would get a free turkey.
The customer was given a certificate to take to Foodland to redeem their 12 pound turkey. If they wanted a larger one, they could pay the difference.
Each year we would give out about 6000 turkeys and to this day, people still come up to me and remember their ‘free’ turkey.
Then as it got closer to Christmas the gifts would change. The first year it was ‘Buy a gift for your wife and get the children’s toys for free’. The toys that year were an erector set with a watch, a microscope set with a gold item or pearls, and a Lionel electric train with a diamond ring.
Later the gifts were silver tea sets. A smaller four piece set was the gift with a $99 purchase and a huge silver set complete with coffee server, tea server, sugar bowl, and creamer all on a large silver tray was the gift with a purchase of $299 or more.
So when I see an 18 inch felt Christmas stocking as the gift with $500 in purchases, I can hardly get too excited.
