I saw an amusing flick on Netflix streaming last night. Bernie. I was attracted to this because it is a true story. I like true life ‘crime’.

In small-town Texas, the local mortician strikes up a friendship with a wealthy widow, though when he kills her, he goes to great lengths to create the illusion that she’s alive.

Jack Black, who plays Bernie does a fantastic acting job. He is the very talented funeral director who the whole town loves.

He is warm and friendly and all the widows think he is the greatest. After each funeral he calls on the widow and brings her flowers and candy.

When he calls on the mean rich widow, she falls for him. They become a ‘couple’ until he finally kills her.

When the jig is finally up, he is charged with murder. I don’t want to spoil the ending for you, as this will be revealed if you watch the movie.

It is a pretty long movie, and paints quite a picture of life in a small town in East Texas. (I’m sure glad I don’t live there)

Jack Black, Shirley MacLaine and Matthew McConaughey

Jack is Bernie, Shirley is the rich widow and Matthew is the District Attorney

