OK> Now that I have your attention: Starbucks is having a Freebie. Actually a buy one, get one free.

This is a kickoff for their holiday flavored drinks.From November 15-18, between two and five p.m., if you order one of these drinks, you will get another one for a friend.

Or, I guess you could drink both of them. These are your choices: Caramel Brule’e Latte, Peppermint Mocha and Gingerbread Latte.

As there are two Starbucks practically across the street from me, I have marked my calendar.

I love two for one and gift with purchase. I usually take advantage of these things. But yesterday, I had a bad gift with purchase experience.

I have been shopping at Neiman Marcus for over fifty years. I remember when they only had one store in Dallas. Now they are all over plus they have a huge online business.

I got an email stating that they were having a Home Event. With any $300 purchase, the gift was a large beautiful tote bag filled with about a dozen designer goodies, including MacKenzie Childs towels, Jo Malone London cologne, Godiva chocolates, and on and on.

The supposed value of this gift was $400. So I decided to do a little Christmas shopping. My mistake was not doing this at 6 a.m.

As their Home department includes all their foods and candies, bedding, table top goods, kitchen etc., it wasn’t very hard to select $300 of gifts.

What was hard, was to check out. The site wouldn’t let me. I tried and tried and finally phoned customer service, who said they would be happy to take my order by phone. Not so easy, as I had eight items and had to read them all with numbers and letters.

Finally it got to the part about paying for this and the woman on the phone said, “I’m sorry, we are sold out of that promotion”.

When I called back to complain, the reply was,”We had a much greater response than we expected”.

So if you get an email that sounds too good to be true, and you want to take advantage of it, do it right away.

