I grew up in Hawaii. I have used chopsticks for most of my life. When I got this email of how to use chopsticks I thought it was so funny, I thought I would share it with you, Dear Readers.

I have different kinds of chopsticks. The easiest to use are the wooden ones. These come in a paper wrapped package, with a set in each pack. These are the Japanese type.They are very cheap. You can buy a box of fifty pairs at Longs Drug Store for 88 cents.

When you buy a bento lunch, which is a Japanese box lunch consisting of fish or chicken, rice and a little packet of soy sauce and wasabi mustard, you get a pair of these wooden chopsticks attached to the box with a rubber band.

The prettier ones are the Chinese type that are readily available in Chinatown. These are usually cloisone or painted wood. Sometimes they come in a satin lined case, or a brocade chopstick case good for carrying in your purse. These are not quite as easy to manage as the plain wooden ones, but they are much classier.

When my youngest daughter worked for Duty Free Shoppers, she often went to Hong Kong on buying trips. On one of her trips she bought herself a dozen pair of beautiful chopsticks. Each pair had different carvings and now she can throw a Chinese dinner for twelve and have the perfect chopsticks.

For those of you not familiar with the correct way to eat Chinese food, here is what you do. The food usually comes on platters family style. Each person is given their own bowl of rice. You take your chopsticks and help yourself to some food from the large platter, put it in your rice bowl, hold the bowl to your mouth and you don’t have that far to move the chopsticks.

You can also spoon the food onto your plate and using your chopsticks lift the food from your plate to your mouth, but it is a lot farther and you have to be pretty good at this.

Peter  prefers to use chopsticks for just about everything but scrambled eggs and ice cream. He thinks forks are barbaric.

I used to carry a pair of pink flowered chopsticks in my purse, just in case I wanted to go out for Chinese food. The ones in the Chinese restaurants are usually plain white plastic and very slippery.

I always wonder if they give that type to the haoles (white people) and then go in the kitchen and laugh. In most Chinese restaurants, they put a fork by your plate if you are not Chinese.

I always ask for chopsticks and always get a funny look from the waiter, as though I am trying to impress him. Which I am not. I just don’t think Chinese food tastes right when you eat it with a metal fork.

