Friday I went to my regular dentist with a tooth ache. “OH. You need a root canal, then come to me and I will replace the crown on that tooth. In the meantime, take these antibiotics to clear up any infection”.

I was mentally adding this all up in my head. $65 for the exam, $700 for the root canal, and $1000 plus for the new crown.

I called Dr. Fu, (the root canal dentist) and made an appointment for today, Monday. All weekend I was filled with dread, as nobody likes to have a root canal.

Today was the day. I was advised to eat something first, as I would be numb afterwards and not be able to chew. So I ‘celebrated’ with a Dairy Queen hot fudge sundae. Perfect.

When I got to the dentist I was advised that first he would do an x-ray and consultation and that would cost $160. If it was determined that I did indeed need a root canal, then that fee would be waived and the charge would be $670.

As I had used up my dental insurance allotment for the year already, I was not too pleased. This was all to be out of pocket.

After the x-ray and exam, the dentist said, “You don’t need a root canal. The infection is in your gums, what you need is a different antibiotic.”

Boy, was I elated. I happily paid the $160, went to the drugstore and got my new pills and went home and took a nap. Not only did I ‘save’ at least $1500, I also ‘saved’ a lot of pain and aggravation.

This is a good example of ‘always get a second opinion’.

