I am watching the best crime series on Netflix streaming, I wanted to let you readers know about it. It is called ‘Spiral’ and it is in French with subtitles.

The main characters are a very handsome prosecutor, a female police captain and a charming older judge. Each episode has a grisly murder for them to solve, but in all the cases the people keep getting involved with one another and it is so twisted and clever, it is almost addicting.

I have been watching it on my Kindle, with earphones. I like to hear the French words and also read the subtitles. The murders are very gruesome and if you have a weak stomach, this may not be for you. But if you can get past that, the story is so good.

There are three seasons so far and I understand that there will be a fourth. There are about 28 episodes to date, so if you watch one a day, this will keep you busy for nearly a month.

I am very impatient and rather like to watch two a day, so I will be done with the three seasons in about two weeks.

In any case, give it a shot. Even if you are not into foreign flicks, give this one a try. You won’t be disappointed.

And a plus is that you may pick up a few French phrases. So far I have learned Merci, (thank you) and a few others.

I did take French in high school, but that was sixty years ago and most of the sentences we learned had to do with rather dull items like pens and tables. ‘La plume est sur la table’ or ‘The pen is on the table’.

Not much in the murder, crime field. No bodies in dumpsters or drug deals going down.

