Last night I had a little birthday party for my son, who is now 54 years old. He had requested an angel food cake with chocolate frosting.

In all my baking days, I had never made an angel food cake from scratch. I searched three different markets for a cake mix, as I usually use a Betty Crocker mix and it is always just fine. (Takes one minute of mixing in the electric mixer. Period.)

No luck. I guess the shipment didn’t come in. So I bought an extra dozen eggs, some cake flour and granulated white sugar.

Luckily, I had all the other ingredients on hand. (there is no fat, butter, or shortening in an angel food cake). This makes it ‘heart friendly’.

First step was to bring the eggs to room temperature. If you are in a hurry, and didn’t take the eggs out of the fridge a couple of hours ago, you can soak them in warm water for about ten minutes and they will get to be room temperature.

Now to separate twelve eggs. You cannot get one speck of yolk into the whites, or they won’t beat into peaks. I was very careful and now I had twelve egg yolks in a separate bowl.

The recipe I used called for 1 3/4 cup of white sugar. However it had to be put in the food processor for two minutes to refine it. Not quite powdered sugar.

So far, I had messed up two bowls and my food processor. Now I was to put the egg whites, 1/4 cup of water, cream tartar and vanilla in a large bowl and beat with a whisk for two minutes.

Now another dirty bowl and a sore arm too. Next step was to beat the egg whites till medium peaks formed. This was done in my Kitchen Aid mixer while gradually adding half of the sugar. Of course this was done in the metal bowl that goes with the mixer. (another dirty bowl)

The other half of the sugar was sifted with the cake flour and the salt. I had checked several different recipes on the internet. One of them had this step done five times.

Then this mixture was sifted onto the egg white peaks in very small batches. After each sprinkling, the flour had to be folded into the whites.

Finally this whole mixture was spooned into an angel food cake pan, which is a tube pan with a removable bottom. Then baked for 35 minutes.

After that I turned it upside down on a cooling rack for a couple of hours. Ran a knife around the edges and put on a plate.

The frosting is the fudge recipe on the Nestle chocolate chip package. The one with evaporated milk, sugar, chips and marshmallows. I used half for the cake and the rest, I added chopped walnuts and made a nice batch of fudge.

When frosting a cake, here is a good tip to keep the frosting from running onto the plate. Cut four strips of waxed paper and tuck each one under the cake. Then frost the cake, clear to the bottom.

Pull away the waxed paper and you will have a nice clean edge. The frosting that is stuck to the paper is just the right amount for scraping off and tasting.

Everything came out OK. I must have used every bowl, beater, spoon, spatula, measuring cup, and measuring spoon that I own.  All in all, I think Betty Crocker angel food cake mix tastes better, is a whole lot easier and much cheaper.

Or if even that is too much trouble, you can buy a ready made angel food cake at almost any market. It may taste somewhat like Styrofoam, but you can frost it, or bury it under strawberries and Cool Whip or whipped cream.

I looked online to find out what to do with twelve egg yolks. There is a site that gives you about one hundred recipes calling for one, two, three, four, five or six yolks.

Most ice cream recipes call for just the yolks, but there is also flan, Bearnaise and Hollandais sauce plus a multitude of others. I made the flan, which messed up another couple of bowls, plus a large pan which was used to caramelize the sugar.

This one step is the most dangerous. You put one cup of sugar into a skillet and stirring constantly over a medium heat, it will turn into caramel syrup. Be careful not to splash any of this on yourself. It is VERY hot.

Then you pour this into a baking dish, top with the custard mixture and bake in a large pan filled with water. You now have enough dirty dishes to totally fill your dishwasher. Plus a couple of large bowls that won’t fit.

p.s. I just got this letter from a girlfriend who read my blog. Such a good idea, I thought I would add it for you Dear Readers:

HI SANDY, LOVE THE ANGEL BLOG.  FYI EGGS SEPARATE BETTER WHEN THEY FIRST COME OUT OF THE FRIDGE , THEN YOU CAN BRING THE WHITES TO ROOM TEMP. I HAVE  MADE TONS OF ANGEL FOOD CAKES IN MY LIFETIME (MY DADS FAVORITE) AND MY AUNT TAUGHT ME THAT AND TO USE A SMALL BOWL FOR EVERY EGG, SO THAT YOU DON’T GET ANY YOLK IN THE WHITES AND GOD FORBID A BAD EGG TO RUIN IT ALL. NOW THAT YOU HAVE TASTED HOME MADE WILL YOU EVER EAT A BOXED ONE???
HUGS,
DIANE

