This is a repeat, but in case you missed it, here it is again. The second recipe is fun. The first one is really a pain.

Just like David’s Deli in San Francisco

For forty years I have been searching for this cookie recipe. Finally I got busy on the internet and found it. These are the most wonderful cookies.

Unfortunatly half a batch only makes seven cookies and the cost to bake these is high. It takes a whole package of almond paste to make half a batch. And here in Hawaii a seven ounce package of almond paste costs almost $9.

The good news is that there are only three ingredients. Almond paste, sugar and egg whites. Kosher for passover. No flour.

The recipe is a little complicated as far as the how to so I recommend looking it up on google. Narsai David Recipe: Almond Macaroons.  I can’t get this link to work, so if you just google it, it will take you right to it.

I think the method is all important. Especially the part about how you get the cookies off of the parchment paper once they are done. This involves flipping the pan over another pan and brushing cool water on the bottom of the parchment paper, cooling the cookies and then peeling them off.

Believe me, it works. The hardest part was ‘piping’ the almond dough onto the little circles. I used a zip lock baggie with one corner cut off, as I don’t have a pastry tube. What a mess.

Seems like a lot of trouble to go to for seven cookies, but probably worth it. There is another almond macaroon recipe on the internet that makes 200 cookies. I think that would be an overkill.

On another note: I only ate six of the seven cookies. The other one got crumbled up in the apple mixture I put in an apple pie. I think I am on to something. I think you could crumble up any cookies and mix it into the fruit in a pie, for more flavor and texture.

I even remember a recipe that used to be on the Ritz cracker box. It was how to make an ‘apple pie’ if you didn’t have any apples. You used Ritz crackers mixed with sugar, cinnamon and butter and put this in a crust. As I recall it wasn’t bad. Think I’ll look up the exact recipe for an emergency.

OK> You lucky readers, here you are. Your guests will be amazed. No apples in this pie.

what you need

Pastry for 2-crust 9-inch pie

36   RITZ Crackers, coarsely broken (about 1-3/4 cups crumbs)

2 cups sugar

2 tsp.  cream of tartar

Grated peel of 1 lemon

2 Tbsp.  lemon juice

2 Tbsp. butter or margarine

1/2 tsp.  ground cinnamon

make it

PREHEAT oven to 425°F. Roll out half of the pastry and place in 9-inch pie plate. Place cracker crumbs in crust; set aside.

MIX sugar and cream of tartar in medium saucepan. Gradually stir in 1-3/4 cups water until well blended. Bring to boil on high heat. Reduce heat to low; simmer 15 minutes. Add lemon peel and juice; cool. Pour syrup over cracker crumbs. Dot with butter; sprinkle with cinnamon. Roll out remaining pastry; place over pie. Trim; seal and flute edges. Slit top crust to allow steam to escape.

BAKE 30 to 35 minutes or until crust is crisp and golden. Cool completely.

kraft kitchens tips

SIZE-WISE

Enjoy this mock apple pie treat but be mindful of the serving size.

