I received an email this morning from my daughter. It was so funny/sad I thought I would share it with my readers.

Sherry is my daughter, Cami is my ten year old grand daughter and Scott is my son in law. There, you have the family tree info. needed for the story:

Hi,
So Cami’s dream is to visit Carlo’s Bakery in Hoboken, NJ.  (From the TV show Cake Boss) Scott got us here on the subway and PATH train to NJ — no sweat.   We ask directions and it is a short walk to the bakery.  We get there and there is a short line outside to get in … Cami is giddy.  Scott and I look at each other and say “not bad!”  I take Cami”s  pic while we are waiting in the short line.  Guy comes out and says “do you have a ticket?”. We say “ticket?”.   “If you don’t have a ticket, you need to wait in the line down the street in front of CVS.  We’ll give you a ticket over there.”.  We walk down the street with the other 150 other poor suckers.     Cami looked so sad.   I said, “I’ll wait in the line while you guys go explore Hoboken.”  Scott went for a walk, but the kids are here with me.   After 15 min and we have only moved about 10 ft, I’m mildly concerned that this could be a long wait.  Longer than the Pirates of the Caribbean.  At least it is only 80 degrees today vs 105 two years ago.  Wish me luck!
Love
Sherry

Bottom line: If any of you readers are planning to go to Carlo’s Bakery in Hoboken, New Jersey, be sure to get a ticket first.

However when I spoke to Sherry later in the day, it seems that she had made lemonade out of a lemon. She said that while standing in line for nearly one and a half hours, they met some lovely people standing in front of and behind them.

One batch from Indiana and another from Memphis. It seems that people from all over the world are beating a path to Hoboken, N.J.

This bakery makes gorgeous cakes for any occasion and in any style or shape you could imagine. They deliver in a radius of 60 miles. You can check them out online and see their fabulous cakes.A Cannolli cake. Yummy

They also sell tee shirts for men, women and children, aprons, chef’s coats and lots of great gift items.Cami’s Dream Come True/ Buddy (star of Cake Boss) is a cardboard cutout

A similar thing happened to me while in Kansas City. There was a very famous Jewish delicatessen that I had heard about for years. One of my ‘to do’ things when I got to K.C. was to check this out.

Living in Hawaii, where there really are no good delicatessens, this is always something I look forward to when I go to the ‘mainland’. Here, even a decent bagel is hard to find.

There is a tiny bagel place on Cooke Street called ‘This is It’. Very strange hours and days, plus for some reason they don’t make egg bagels. And their rye bread tastes like OrroWheat.

Then there is the ‘Bagel Box’ on Sand Island Access Road. Odd location and weird parking. Seems like sort of a spooky area. I usually wind up buying bagels at Costco.

So when I got to Kansas City (to visit friends), my mouth was watering for their famous pastrami sandwich. I checked out my map and when I got there, it was closed forever.

The owner had died and his son didn’t want to be in the delicatessen business. (the son was a lawyer and 55 years old. Getting up at 4 a.m. to start cooking brisket and liver was not on his list of things he wanted to do)

So for a few years there really wasn’t a decent Jewish delicatessen in Kansas City. There is a rather large Jewish population in Kansas City. (Ever heard of Hallmark? as in Greeting Cards?) This was a big void in the food business.

All of the deli’s were deli/pizza, which really isn’t the same at all. Even here in Hawaii we have a Giovanni Pastrami. Yuck.

Evidently there finally is a good one that recently opened. It is called The Rye Delicatessen and Bar. So if you are in K.C., put that on your list of must go’s.

