Have you ever needed  some quick cash, but all you had on you was a credit card? This is what happened to me today while food shopping in the market.

First of all, I was all decked out in my 4th of July outfit, so I stood out from the crowd. A nice looking boy of about eighteen approached me.

He was very clean, and wearing a pair of long swim trunks and a shirt. He was clutching a large skateboard in one hand and his cell phone in the other.

I always ‘dress’ for the holidays and today was no exception

“Excuse me, I would like to ask you something. I’m not asking you for money, but I need $100 by 5 p.m. and I was wondering if I could pay for your food with my credit card (he flashed his Master card) and if you could give me the cash?”

I thought this was a very creative idea and so I checked my purse, to be sure I had enough cash on me to cover this transaction. “Sure”, I said. “No problem”.

He explained that the reason he needed cash was because he was upgrading his phone at the iTunes store and had to have cash for the payment. Evidently there was a 4th of July special he wanted to take advantage of.

He told me to take my time and then he put all my groceries on the conveyer belt. This was really a blessing for me, as one of my items was a watermelon.

Then when the total came to $50.88, he swiped his card and then cheerfully wheeled my groceries to my car and loaded the trunk.

I gave him two twenties, a ten and a one and so we were even.

All he has to do is find one more person like me between two and five, and he’ll have his $100.

On the way to the car he asked how long I had lived in Hawaii. When I told him I was born here, he seemed envious.

He had come to Hawaii from San Diego three months ago. He brought a back pack, a sleeping bag, a rope, a tarp and his skateboard. Period. He carefully explained that he had given the tarp to a homeless man to protect him from the rain.

Now he is living in a Christian home for $300 a month. I wished him luck and he went on his way. (I did wonder who was paying his Master card bill).

All in all, it was a very memorable 4th of July, one I will not soon forget.

