So many people are allergic to peanuts, it is practically an epidemic. My grandson is one of those people, and even a little speck of peanut butter on the counter that would get on his food, is enough to send him to the hospital.

I have heard of peanut sniffing dogs, sort of like a seeing eye dog. This is for people who can’t even be in the same room as a peanut. Or peanut oil.

Luckily I have never had this problem. Peanut butter is my all time favorite food. I grew up on Skippy but I have tried them all. Right now I am liking Adams a lot.

If you put the jar upside down between usings, you don’t have to stir it. Laura Scudder is pretty good too.

But today I found something that looks like peanut butter but there are no peanuts in it. No, it is not soy nut butter or almond butter. It is called Biscoff Spread. It is by Lotus and right now a 14 ounce jar at CVS/Longs is only $3.89.

This is supposed to be a European thing and you can use it in all the usual ways, plus it is recommended to put on apple slices.

Wheat flour/sugar/vegetable oils are the main ingredients. So if you are allergic to wheat, better skip this one.

If you have a jar of peanut butter that you don’t particularly like, here is something you can do with it. If you or your child gets chewing gum stuck in their hair, putting a glob of peanut butter on top of the tangle will let you comb it right out.

Live and learn.

