Have you ever heard of magnetic fingernail polish? I had heard of it, but never tried it. Today when I went to get my nails done, I thought “What the heck?”

I like to try new things and this was sort of a fun one. The polish comes in several neutral shades. I selected a greenish/gold. The brand I used was China Glaze. There is a separate horseshoe shaped magnet with three design choices.

Mixed into the nail polish are fine metal particles and these shift into various patterns when exposed to a magnet. The polish is put on each nail, and then the manicurist holds a magnet over the nail for about thirty seconds and a pattern appears.

These ‘stripes’ are the shifting stripes of nail polish, once the magnet is placed over the nail.

There are three different choices of designs. I chose a star/burst for my toes and a diagonal stripe for my fingers. There was also a chevron stripe, but I’ll have to try that next time.

This process is shown in the ad as a do it yourself project. I don’t know. I think it would be very hard to do it yourself. The magnet contraption has to be held almost touching the polish, but not quite.

And you have to put a thick layer of polish on each nail first. I can see doing the left hand, but to hold this magnet thingy in my left hand steadily for thirty seconds while not accidently knocking it into the wet polish would be difficult.

There is another brand, which is sold at Sephora, where the magnet is in the cap of the polish. (Maybe this would be easier to work with).

Anyway, it will be fun to see if anyone notices this ‘new’ look. I will say it looks much more fabulous in the sunlight.

