Yes, real men do eat quiche. I haven’t made a quiche in years. I was always daunted by the pound of bacon and heavy cream required. So today I got inspired to make this dish with less fat and bad stuff.

First I used filo dough for the ‘crust’. I took a few sheets and put a little melted ‘I Can’t Believe it’s not Butter’ in between. Then I put this in my forty year old quiche dish and baked the ‘crust’ at 375 for about ten minutes.

You could use a ready made refrigerated pie crust if you prefer, or make one yourself. I didn’t feel like bothering with all that. I have also heard you can use biscuits such as Pillsbury and just sort of flatten and join them all over the bottom of the pan and up the sides.

Meanwhile in my blender I put three eggs and 3/4 cup of fat free half and half. Or you could use regular half and half or canned milk. The original recipe calls for heavy cream. Dash of salt. Blend. Then add about a cup of cheese chunks. Shred and add to milk mixture, or chop up in milk mixture by pressing chop a couple of times on your blender.

On top of crust put some chopped up baby spinach leaves, a couple of spoons of chopped onion and some crumbled bacon or a substitute.

Morning Star makes some non meat sausages you could crumble and use. That would make this dish totally vegan. But dairy.

You could use regular cooked sausage or bacon crumbled up, but I was trying to be semi healthy here. Now pour the milk/egg/cheese mixture all over and bake for about 35 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. I sprinkled the top with some paprika for looks and a little ground nutmeg just before baking.

Quiche can be served hot or cold. If you want to make handy little one serving ‘muffins’, just add more spinach to the cheese mixture and pour into muffin tins. You can omit the ‘crust’. These little spinach/cheese muffins are a good low carb snack.

