My daughter is a really good cook. And baker. I guess the acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree. However this acorn has surpassed my talents. She even had her cookies chosen in the Top Ten in the Los Angeles Times Holiday Cookie contest last year.

Her winner was ‘Nana’s Russian Tea Cookies’, in case you want to look it up. The Holiday cookbook is available on Amazon under ‘Los Angeles Times Holiday Cookies from the Past Ten Years’. I put it on my Kindle.

She sent me this recipe and it sounded so good, I thought I would share it with you, Dear Readers. She said that these are yummy.

Blueberry Muffins

8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter melted
2 large eggs
1/2 cup milk
2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
3/4 cup + 1 tsp sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups blueberries

preheat oven to 375 – use muffin pan paper liners
whisk butter, eggs and milk
mix flour, 3/4 cup sugar , baking powder and salt
stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients
and fold in the blueberries (I use frozen organic blueberries ok if you want to
use fresh too)
divide batter into muffin cups – and sprinkle the muffins with the remaining 1/2
tsp sugar
bake 25 – 30 minutes – or until toothpick tests clean and muffins are golden
brown

makes 1 dozen
best eaten warm
enjoy

I like to make poppy seed muffins. Use same muffin recipe but put in the zest of a lemon and a couple of tablespoons of poppy seeds. This is good, if you want to make some muffins, but you don’t have any blueberries.

Of course you have to have poppy seeds.

