Every now and then I come across a recipe I would like to share. This one sounded so good and easy. It is not exactly a healthy, low cal, low anything dip but I want to try to make it more so.

I will doctor this up a bit. First of all, Costco sells white Peruvian onions and also sometimes has Vidalias. I plan to get a bag on my next Costco run.

And whenever a recipe calls for finely chopped anything, just do it in the Cuisinart. In five seconds you will have perfectly chopped onions. (And no tears)

However if you are a purist and insist on chopping your onions the old fashioned way, to keep from tearing, put a piece of bread in your mouth while you are doing this.

There is a product called Vegenaise. It tastes exactly like Mayonaise, in fact it is Mayonaise without all the Bad Stuff. I got it at Safeway, but I’m sure it is at most good health food type markets and Whole Foods.

It is on the pricey side. About the same price for 16 oz. as Best Foods is for a quart (32 oz.)

Whenever I use this in a recipe, I always add about a tablespoon of Best Foods for the flavor.

Now for the Swiss Cheese. There is fat free cheese and vegetable cheese, but I like the Alpine Lace reduced fat Swiss cheese.

This recipe makes six cups of dip. I plan to make about one and a half cups. If you just want to make enough for three or four, use 1/2 cup of each ingredient.

When I was younger and in my pre-heart attack days, I probably would have made this exactly as the original recipe says. But now I am learning to substitute fat free and less fat items when I can.

And bake in a couple of large ramekins.This is a ramekin, for you non bakers

Baked Onion Dip Recipe
Vidalia Onion Dip

2 cups grated Swiss cheese
2 cups real mayonnaise
2 cups finely chopped onions ( I use sweet white onions instead of Vidalia, but it is all good)

Mix Swiss cheese, mayo and onions together. Place mixture in a baking dish and sprinkle the top lightly with ground paprika, just for looks. Bake for about 20-30 minutes at 350 degrees until mixture is just bubbly and golden on top. Serve with crackers.

Notes: It is easy to adjust the amount of the dip you make, just remember to use equal parts of the ingredients.

Enjoy!

