I think one of the easiest things to make is Jello. Even you folks who ‘don’t cook’ can do this. The traditional way is to take a package of jello, stir into boiling water and add cold water. Then chill

I don’t do it that way. I boil a cup of water in the microwave, add the jello and stir for a couple of minutes. Then I add ice cubes and cold water to make another cup. Stir until ice cubes dissolve. Voila

Then put in fridge. This fast method will have your jello gelled in about an hour.

I recall back in 1961 when I was Hawaii’s delegate to the Congress on Better Living in Chicago. Each state sent a representative and we gave food manufacturers ideas on how to improve their products.

At that time Jello came in a folded wax paper package and in Hawaii and other humid places, this product became hard as a rock just while sitting on the market shelves.

Due to our ‘suggestions and advice’, Jello now comes in a moisture proof packet and it is so much better.

Today I found a new way to make jello. Jello 1-2-3. This was on the box of Sugar Free Strawberry Jello. I’m not crazy about sugar free anything, but this is pretty good.

Even plain it is not bad as a little snack. But this 1-2-3 method is really yummy.

Boil 3/4 cup water, dissolve Jello. Pour into blender with 1/2 cup cold water, some ice cubes and 1/2 cup of Cool Whip Lite. Blend for a few seconds. Pour into dishes and chill.

I think I would serve this with a couple of fresh sliced strawberries on top and a dollop of Cool Whip.

If you do this without the Cool Whip it is OK too. Pour into little glass dishes. Jello will separate and be foamy on the top and clear on the bottom. Very cute.

Another good Jello ‘trick’ is to put the Jello into stem glasses and tilt in the fridge as it cools. Then make another batch out of another color and add to tilted firm jello and put in fridge level. You will have a diagonal pattern and your dinner guests will be amazed.

One day I decided to do this three times. I tilted the glasses one way and then another. I used red, green and orange Jello. It’s a lot of work and you have to be home for several hours in a row, and remember to do this at the right times.

Another really good jello treat is jello salad. This is made with lemon or lime Jello. Use regular water/ice cube method and when jello starts to turn into jello stir in chopped celery, chopped walnuts or pecans and if you like, a little chopped green pepper or green onion. Pour into a square dish and when firm, cut into squares.

For Thanksgiving you can do this with red jello and add a can of whole cranberry sauce to the mixture. This year I noticed cranberry jello on the shelves at holiday time.

I wonder if they will have pumpkin flavored Jello for Halloween. You could make a jello pie. Hmm.

My mother used to make tomato aspic, which is tomato jello, but I never liked it. This was done with unflavored gelatin and a can of tomato juice.

I’ve also made tuna jello. This is done with lemon jello, stir in mayo, chopped celery,  a can of tuna and some dill for flavor. Pour into a mold. Very nice for a hot day.

I went to a party where each woman brought her favorite dish. One woman brought something very delicious. Coffee jello. This was made with unflavored gelatin and the liquid was  sweetened coffee. This was folded into whipped cream. Yummy. (Whenever a recipe calls for whipped cream, you can use Cool Whip). This now comes in Original, Lite and FREE. I opt for the Lite.

There are so many ways you can use Jello. Plus it is one of those things that Longs and Walgreens has on sale from time to time. Usually Longs has Jello at 2/$1 but Walgreens has coupons for 4/$1.  Watch for this in your Sunday paper.

p.s. I had a comment to make about this blog. Sometimes I spelled Jello with a capital J and sometimes not. I think when it is the actual brand name of a product it is supposed to be capitalized. However when it is just a type of product it can be lower case. I hope I did it right.

If you use Royal gelatin, that will work just fine too. (In fact when adding instant pudding to a cake mix, I always opt for Royal instant pudding if I can find it).

