There are lots of good things about a birthday. First of all you usually get cards and presents from people in your family. Friends get friendlier.

I am lucky. I am being taken out to lunch and out to dinner on my birthday. But that’s not all.

No, all the vendors are jumping on this bandwagon. I got a nice email and coupon from Baskin Robbins for a free ice cream cone of my choice. I can have a regular cone or soft serve.

And I don’t have to go exactly on my birthday. I can go the week before or after.

Then Sephora sent me a card for a nice birthday gift. I went in to the store today and Voila. There was a darling set of Sugar Lip Treatment/and Rose lip color balm. Very nice and supposedly a $20 item.

Even Gordon Birsch sent me a birthday ‘gift’. A free appetizer with the purchase of an entree.

Lancome had a good Birthday special. With any online purchase, a gift of five lipsticks ($122 value).

Armani cosmetics had a gift of five free minis of my choice with any purchase. Unfortunatly there really wasn’t anything I wanted out of their choices.

So far my best present came early from my two daughters. A very large gift certificate to the Halekaulani Hotel. I can use it anywhere in the hotel. As they have my favorite restaurant, favorite spa and beautiful shops, I will have no trouble ‘spending’ this gift.

I think a day of lunch, a trip to the spa, something cute from their gift shop and afternoon tea should put a dent in my gift certificate.

My sister is taking me out to lunch at the Willows here in Honolulu. This is a restaurant with a lot of nostalgia for me. I have been going there for nearly fifty years.

Then the day will wrap up with Peter taking me to dinner at a great little Italian restaurant. My only dilemma will be whether to order the eggplant parmiagina or the lasagna. I love them both. I wonder if I can get the chef to make me a 50/50 combo?

