I have been baking for over fifty years and it never occurred to me to make homemade crackers.

Today in the Honolulu Star Advertiser there was a recipe for these goodies and as I had all the ingredients, decided to try them. Wow!

Shirt says Carpe Diem (Perfect for me)

(Means Seize the Day)

Preheat oven to 350

First of all you need to have really good cheddar cheese. I got some Cabot white cheddar at Costco. You need to have 8 oz. which is one cup grated. Good quality cheddar is essenstial to this recipe. Do not use Kraft grated cheese.

You also need to have one stick of unsalted butter.

You also are supposed to have some red chilies, which I did not have, so I used some red chili pepper flakes.

Take one cup of flour, 3/4 teas. salt, and one teaspoon of chili flakes (or chopped up red chilies). Whisk together. I just put in Cuisinart and pulsed a few times. Then add butter and cheese (which I also grated by pulsing in the Cuisinart before I started this whole thing.)

Pulse till mixture resembles corn meal. Then add three tablespoons of ice water one at a time. Pulse a little each time till dough forms a ball.

Wrap ball of dough in plastic wrap and chill for one hour.

Roll out on a lightly floured baking pan. Cut into whatever shapes you like. I did diamonds. Use a sharp knife or a pastry cutter. A pizza roll/slicer would be good too.

Now you are supposed to put this in the freezer for fifteen minutes. My freezer wouldn’t hold this pan, so I just put all the little pieces on a plate.

Then put all the little pieces on a parchment lined baking sheet. Make sure they are not touching. Bake till golden and crunchy, about 12 minutes, except I added four or five minutes in two minute increments as I like my crackers more toasty.

They taste sort of like cheez-its. A little more ‘grown up’.

Cool and enjoy.

The stats are not great on these, but only 2 mg cholesterol per cracker and 10 calories.

Imagine the look on your guest’s faces when you say, “I made them myself”.

