Gee, New Years is in three days, and I haven’t even thought of any resolutions. There are several things I should do, but they are the same several things that everyone says they will do with the New Year and after a week, I give up.

One is to exercise more, or at all. The other is to eat more fruits and vegetables. And the third is to drink at least six glasses of water every day. Right now, I don’t do any of these things. Maybe I’ll start with the water.

One thing I do that is very good for a person, is I meditate every single morning when I wake up. I started doing this in 1975 when I actually took a class in how to do transcendental meditation. I got all three of my children to meditate also. And my husband (number two).

I don’t do it exactly right, but I do it every day for twenty minutes. You are supposed to sit in a chair with your back straight and your head not supported. I prop up lots of pillows in bed and sort of slump back.

But I do light a candle and lately I have been burning some very good incense. The incense is the real deal. From Tibet. It is what the monks use and they meditate all day long. I find that twenty minutes is right for me.

If I should ever miss a day, and in 35 years, I have only missed a couple, I get very tired around three in the afternoon. Supposedly twenty minutes of meditation is as restful to your brain as six hours of sleep.

I have tried to extoll the benefits of doing this to many friends, but the reply is usually, “I don’t have the time”. I have a friend who faithfully meditates for an hour a day, and would never miss doing this. Plus he sits on pillows on the floor in the lotus position.

I have a mantra, which I was given at my meditation class. I was told never to reveal it to anyone, and I haven’t. (Probably everyone has the same one).

Well, I already meditate, think positive thoughts, and try to find humor in everything. I think that is all part of living a long rich life. But I should think of something to improve in 2012.

So for a resolution, I will have to think of something to organize my life. Maybe I will organize my drawers. I have about thirty drawers all jumbled up. I will start the New Year off right and organize three drawers a day. That way, in ten days, I will be done. Then all I have to do is keep it that way for the next 356 days. (That’s right, it is leap year).

Wish me luck.

