Have you ever heard of Angry Birds? If not, where have you been? This is an app you can put on your iPhone, iPad, iTouch, Kindle etc. and it is a very addictive game.

For a couple of months now Peter has been hooked on this and I just scoffed at him and thought, “I’ll never play that stupid game”. Boy was I ever wrong.

Peter gave me a Kindle Fire for Christmas. (I guessed what it was so he gave it to me early). I decided I wanted to put a game on it. So I spent my 99 cents and bought Angry Birds. That was one week ago.

Since then, every spare minute I am playing this game. I don’t know that it is designed with 73 year old widows as the primary users, but I imagine it appeals to all ages.

I read where Angelina Jolie is addicted to the game and if it’s good enough for her, then it’s good enough for me.

For those of you who haven’t discovered this yet, here is the story: The birds lay their eggs and the little piggies eat them. So there is a war going on. The birds are very angry and they want to kill the piggies. But the piggies are very clever and they hide in rock houses and it is very hard to kill them.

The object is to kill all the piggies in each level and move on to the next. You can’t advance till you wipe out all the little green piggies. You can have as many chances as you need.

There are several different birds. Some just fly at one speed. Some can go faster, if you tap the screen. Some drop egg bombs on the piggies, and my favorite one explodes on contact.

Angry Birds is not just a game, it is a whole social phenomenon. I was in Sears and there was a huge bin of stuffed Angry Bird toys near the electronics department.

I was in Best Buy and they have an entire Angry Birds section. It is complete with cell phone covers and all sorts of products.

Today I went to Nordstom’s Rack. This is a very upscale discount branch of Nordstrom’s. Designer clothes, handbags and shoes. It is not uncommon to see jeans on sale for over $100 and handbags on sale for $200. There in the middle of all this, was a large display of stuffed Angry Birds.

There are several redeeming features of this game. First of all it is totally an escape. You absolutely cannot think of anything else but killing those piggies while you are playing the game. Second there is some strategy involved. I think it would teach children some good lessons in physics, without them even realizing it. And third it is fun.

There are very few things these days that are that much fun, and for only 99 cents. However, if you finish all the levels and want to go on to the next version of the game, then that will be another 99 cents.

And if you want a stuffed Angry Bird toy, that will be between $10-$20 depending on the size. Plus there are five different birds. One is blue, one is red, one is  yellow, one is black and one is white. So if you want a complete set you are looking at $50-$100.

Merry Christmas!

p.s. I will be on vacation starting Friday December 16. Peter and I are spending a week at the Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club here on Oahu. When I get back on the 23rd. I will tell you all about it. Until then…Aloha Sandy

