Yesterday we had our Christmas tree delivered. Every year my sister buys our tree in July from Habilitat. Then in early December, when the trees arrive, they deliver it and set it up.

It takes three men to deliver and set up the tree. One to hold it straight and two on the floor to tighten the screws that hold the tree in the stand. (No wonder I had so much trouble trying to do this myself one year)

And the best part: For an extra $35 they come in early January and remove the tree, and clean up the mess of flocking crumbs, needles etc.

We always have it flocked and this year they really did a great job. It is very fluffy and very white. The shape of the tree is perfect and nice and straight.

Now for the big job of putting on the lights and decorating it. I took the photo below as a before picture, so you can see it bare. The one ornament is a hand painted glass soldier boy ornament that I found at the Thrift Shop the other day for $1. I may have to move him around to the back or side, as we are doing a peacock theme this year. He really won’t fit in.

Usually our tree is mostly red with Santa ornaments. This year I am going to try for a more decorator look with teal and burgundy. We shall see. I’ll probably break down and just do a hodge podge of treasured ornaments.

Some we have had for many years and it is fun to remember where and when I got them. I have ornaments from Hawaii, Mexico, California and Kansas City. Many towns have year round Christmas stores and I enjoy looking at the displays at any time of the year.

When I was a child we used to make garlands out of paper. We cut strips out of colored paper, glued the ends together, and made rings. We joined the rings with another strip of paper and then glued that. I don’t see this done anymore. Maybe it is considered too much of a fire hazard.

We also strung real popcorn and cranberries onto heavy duty thread to make popcorn garlands. Do they do that anymore?

Another one of my favorites were the bubble lights. I hadn’t seen these in years, until the Vermont Country store started selling the reproductions. For those of you too young to remember, these  candle shaped tubes were filled with colored liquid which bubbled up when the lights got warm.

Each year I think how much easier it would be to get a pre lit artificial tree, but then it wouldn’t have that great pine smell and no soul, like a real tree does.

