The day before Thanksgiving I went to see Happy Feet 2. I haven’t seen a 3-D movie since 1965. At that time there were paper red/green glasses and it really wasn’t that great.

For a senior to go to a 3-D movie it costs $11.50, rather than $7 to see a regular flick. As Happy Feet without the 3-D was only playing at 10:40 AM, that sort of decided for me which one I would see.

Technology has really come a long way, and I must say the 3-D effects were really well done. First a notice came on the screen right after the Please Silence Your Phones. It said to put on your glasses. These were handed out as we entered the actual theater.

Now all the coming attractions were in 3-D. The movies were mostly cartoons, many with a pirate theme. I ducked a couple of times as swords were thrown toward the audience.

Then the feature presentation: I loved Happy Feet One, and was really looking forward to Happy Feet Two. It really wasn’t as good as the first one. I had been looking forward to hearing the voices of Brad Pitt and Matt Damon as two sea creatures, but they sounded so much alike, I couldn’t tell which one was which.

The story is simple. Mumbles is now grown up. He was the penquin who couldn’t sing, but was a great dancer. Now he is ‘married’ and has a child. Eric, the little child penquin can’t dance, but he has a beautiful singing voice.

There are messages throughout the flick concerning global warming and shifting of the glaciers in the AntArtic. This has a terrible effect on the wildlife in the area, in this case, stranding the penquins from the sea, which is where they get their food.

The end result would have been starvation for thousands of penquins if Mumbles and Eric and their friends hadn’t come to the aid of the stranded penquins.

By ‘dancing’ and stomping on the snow, they were able to cause an avalanche which made a hill that the penquins could climb.

I hope I didn’t ruin the ending for you. It is really sweet to see just how they were able to accomplish this feat. The best part was at the end of the movie when bubbles floated out into the audience and popped right in front of your nose.

p.s. The closest I ever came to seeing how animals help each other, was in 1995, when I bought two little kittens. The first night I had them at home, I put them in the kitchen where I thought they would be safe. The next morning when I came to check on them, there was only one kitten.

I searched everywhere and finally heard a little meow from under the sink. It seems that the kitten had crawled between the bottom of the sink and the floor through a little crack in the floorboard. I couldn’t even get my hand in the space.

But the other kitten took both paws, pushed them through the crack and pulled the other kitten out by its head.

This was so amazing to me, the slightly larger kitten, helping his little brother. Needless to say, I duct taped the crack so this wouldn’t happen again. Sort of like locking the barn, after the horse is stolen.

