Every year when I make Thanksgiving dinner, I think I enjoy it more. I must be getting good at it, as I have made Thanksgiving dinner over fifty times.

I am vary traditional. The day before Thanksgiving I bake a pumpkin pie. This year I tried the Marie Calender crust and wasn’t too thrilled with it, so today I made my from scratch crust for my pecan pie.

Also yesterday, I made the turkey broth to use for the stuffing and gravy. Today I made my usual, Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing. I chop up celery and onion in the cuisinart, add a few pecans and brown all that in half a cube of margarine. I usually use butter, but I am trying to be somewhat heart healthy this year, as I had a heart attack a month ago.

I boiled the potatoes for the mashed potatoes, and in another pot, I cooked cut up peeled yams. I add a little butter and brown sugar, a squirt of orange juice, mash and top with marshmallows. Just before serving I will bake this for a few minutes until the marshmallows puff up and get golden.

For the mashed potatoes, I add a little butter or margarine, then a glob of mayonaise (this year I used the Best Foods olive oil type) and a press of a couple of cloves of garlic. Salt and fresh ground pepper and just before serving, I add a little milk and heat.

I made the New Cranberry sauce by cooking half a bag of fresh cranberries with a half a chopped up onion, some grated fresh ginger and some pressed fresh garlic. A little orange juice for the liquid and 1/4 cup of sugar. Cook and stir till cranberries pop and sauce is nice and thick.

For those who don’t like such a sophisticated dish, I have the regular canned Ocean Spray. I also am a big fan of fresh uncooked cranberry relish. This is fun to do. Just put half a bag of fresh cranberries, half a chopped up navel orange with the skin on, and 1/4 cup sugar in the Cuisinart. Pulse for a minute or so. Voila.

My daughter Sherry is a girl scout leader and this year she taught the 24 girls in her troop how to make Thanksgiving dinner. Of course on her menu was the Cranberry orange relish that she grew up with.

Since there are only going to be three of us this Thanksgiving holiday, this may be an overkill on the cranberry sauce, but at least everyone will get to choose their favorite. Plus it is good for the leftovers.

I couldn’t resist making the green bean casserole. I will probably be the only one eating it, but it just doesn’t seem right not to have the beans with the french fried onions.

I always have olives on the table and usually I buy dinner rolls. But I forgot the rolls. I found a box of Jiffy Corn Muffins, doctored them up with some fresh grated white cheddar and a spoonful of chopped jalepeno peppers, baked them in my heart shaped muffin tin and that will have to do.

The worst part is the clean up. I already filled and ran the dishwasher once today. It seems like you have about the same amount of pots and pans whether you are cooking Thanksgiving for three or ten.

