Today I went to Walgreens and while backing up from my parking space, another car was reversing into the parking space next to mine. Crash. Crunch.

Oh, no, I felt terrible. And I’m not really sure it was my fault. I have a 2008 Nissan and the damage to my car was just a scraped fender. The other car was a 2011 BMW and the owner was devastated. She now has a big scrape on her passenger side.

I called Geico, my insurance company and got all the numbers and information as to what to do. All I can say, is thank goodness for cell phones. After about an hour, I thought I was done, and got ready to go home and lick my ‘wounds’. Although nobody was actually wounded.

Then the other woman said, “I think we should call the police and file a report”. So I called 911 and in a few minutes an HPD officer arrived on the scene. He took charge, got our licenses and registrations and proceeded to write up his report.

I had now been sitting in my car in the hot sun for nearly two hours and all I could think about was the groceries in my trunk. That and the fact that by now I very much had to use the ladies room.

I asked the officer if I could go back into Walgreens to use their restroom. He said, “Sure”. But when I asked the manager, the response was, “Our restroom is broken”.

Back outside to the sun. At this point came the highlight of my day. The police officer returned my license and said, “Hey, don’t worry about it, that’s why they are called accidents” and then “I see your age on your license, I really thought you were about my age”.

I said, “How old are you?”

He said, “47”.

As I am 73, this really ‘made my day’. And I plan to contact his supervisor and say what a nice police officer he was.

