I love to take photos. I use my iPhone, and my Canon PowerShot SD980IS. I can now email photos directly from my iPhone.

With the latest feature on iPhone, you can share up to five photos on one email. And you can send this to several people at once. I see where iPhone5 is coming out soon. It is supposed to have a better camera.

*****************

It really is fun to get a photo of your grandchildren at Disneyworld with Mickey one minute after the event. Especially if you are in Hawaii and they are in Orlando, Florida.

Ben and Mickey at Disney World

I remember my very first camera. It was a Kodak Brownie camera. It was a cube shaped square and black. It took square black and white pictures with little jagged edges. There were twelve photos on a roll of film.

Nowadays, twelve shots is a normal amount to take of one thing. In the olden days, I remember how important it was to always carry an extra roll of film. When I went to Yosemite in 1948, I took twenty four photos, which I have to this day.

There was a little window with numbers that counted down so you knew how many photos you could take. Twelve, eleven, ten…

After putting the film in the camera on the little rollers, taking the photos, then taking the film out and putting it in its own little case, then you had to take it to the drugstore to have the film developed.

Usually it took a couple of days, but some places could get it done by the next day. Then one hour photo developing came out and Wow!

I remember how exciting it was to pick up your photos, then take them home and put them in your photo album. There were little black or white gummed triangles to slip on each corner, so you could place them on the page.

Then wonder of wonders, plastic sleeves came out and you could slip the photos into the pages without using any adhesive or corners.

I even had a photo album in the mid seventies that had cardboard pages with plastic film on each page to ‘hold’ the photos.

I guess the children of today, or even the teens and young adults couldn’t imagine anything so bizarre. But to us at the time, it just seemed normal.

I enjoy the photo booth on my Mac computer. I take most of the photos that are in this blog with that camera. I can film my latest project and edit it right on my computer. Then I can insert it into my daily post immediately.

The picture quality is pretty good, but if I don’t like how my hair looks, I can just take another from a different angle. Or go comb my hair.

Of course there are still cameras where you have to set the exposures, but the big thrust in cameras these days is the Point and Shoot. So simple and digital so there is no film.

Peter is a professional photographer and his camera is huge. Plus he has many different expensive lenses that snap on for this and that. He has a special back pack with spaces to hold all his lenses and camera body.

And yet, he enjoys the freedom of being able to snap away with his iPhone. He can still edit and print pretty good photos directly from his iPhone. Amazing. Here is one he took the other night while I was fixing dinner. (you can find these coca cola glasses at MacDonalds)

My Canon PowerShot also takes videos and has sound. I didn’t know about the sound part until I got home and was sharing my video photos with my grandchildren and there was Grandma yelling and screaming directions all caught on tape.

It is so nice to see what you have taken immediately, so you can either save it, or take another if it didn’t come out so well.

Lots of times I go on vacation all by myself and there is no one to take MY photo. I have taken lots of photos of myself the old fashioned way, but now there is a reverse lens so you can take a photo of yourself and see what you are taking.

Photo of me taking photo of myself in Las Vegas-using iPhone (before I converted the case to red)

I had this conversion done at Tmobile. They take all the insides out of your iPhone and put it in a different case. I am the only person I know with a RED iPhone. (So much easier to find when you lay it down.)

Plus I can instantly tell it from Peter’s when they are sitting side by side.

The worst camera story involves my father and a movie camera. The year was 1970. My children were eight, ten and twelve. I was thirty two.

My father always loved the newest gadgets and so when he went to Europe, his first stop was Switzerland to buy the latest thing, a Bolex eight mm. movie camera.

As he was going to go to all the major cities in Europe and finally on to Africa to actually film giraffes and zebras, he was so excited. So excited that as he left the camera store he dropped the camera on the sidewalk.

Not thinking anything could be wrong, he proceeded to take thirty rolls of film over the next few weeks. When he got back to Hawaii he had them developed and couldn’t wait to have his whole family over for movie night.

We got to my parent’s house, which was all set up like a theater with popcorn and candy. Ta da. He put the first reel in. Uh, oh, it was Switzerland in the Alps, taken from the bus my parents were touring on.

But since my father had dropped the camera, he had screwed up the view finder and what he really got was the yellow line down the middle of the winding road.

It was really sad. He had a great photo of the bottom of the Eiffle tower. The doormat in front of the Taj Mahal, the sidewalk in front of the Louvre and the saddest and funniest of all, the legs only shot of a herd of giraffe.

I had a similar experience many years ago. There was a camera called a Minox. It was very small and fit in your purse. It was 1980 and I decided to take a trip around the world. I bought a brand new Minox to take on my trip. I don’t know what was wrong, but every single photo came out blank.

Taking Vacation Photos

Prolonged exposure to season-long serialized dramas has vastly reduced the space available to store our own memories. Free up more brain-space for your favorite shows by keeping your vacation memories where they belong—in photographs—using these handy vacation snapshot tips:

  • Before photographing any tiny birds, make sure to scream at them to hold still.
  • Make your photos “artsy” by turning the camera upside down.
  • You can already see what’s in front of you. Why not take a photo of your face to remember your reactions?
  • For a timeless look, shoot all your home movies in Kodachrome, the only film solution that makes your children appear to be made of shiny metal.
  • Don’t bother photographing any famous landmarks such as the Eiffel Tower—there are plenty of pictures of those already.
