• Umji Spa aka Oasis Sauna 1540 Makaloa St.  Ste 411
    • Honolulu, HI 96814        (808) 949-2022
    • Hours:Mon-Fri 9 am – 8:30 pmSat-Sun 8:30 am – 8:30 pm
    • Price Range:$$
    • Accepts Credit Cards:Yes   By Appointment Only: Yes
    • Wheelchair Accessible:Yes      Umji Spa aka Oasis Sauna
    • I’ve never been to a Korean Spa before but had done a lot of homework on what to expect and how to find a good one. This place was recommended by my Korean hairdresser, who swears by it.
    • If you live in Honolulu, this establishment is behind Makaloa Plaza. Free parking is in the back and the Scrub place is right there.
    •  They only do women, so if you are a man reading this post, you will have to go somewhere else.
    • I understand that besides being very popular in Korea, there are lots of these salons in Los Angeles and Las Vegas. It certainly isn’t something new.
    • If you just want the scrub it takes about fifty minutes and costs $50. The scrub/massage is $70 and The Works is $95.If you just want to come and use the jacuzzi, ice pool, sauna and steam bath there are packages for just that part. If you have any of the treatments then that is all included.
  • I got a full scrub service that included access to the spa amenities (sauna, hot tub, ice bath) and got a scrub down, a facial and a massage.The sauna and hot/cold baths were very clean and nice.
  • At the time it was just me and another woman, so actually I think this was good for me so that I didn’t feel all weirdly naked around lots of strangers. It was SOOO relaxing.
  •  The owner explained everything to me and was very nice — even though I wasn’t Korean!! haha!
  • After I was sauna’d/tubbed/wrinkly, a 60 year old woman in her bra and panties motioned for me to come into the other room for my scrub down.
  •  The scrub itself was enjoyable, not painful at all. The pain didn’t start until the massage. I mean I prefer deep tissue, and I really have trouble telling someone it hurts because I’m a firm believer that sometimes you need hurt to heal.
  •  I thought I was going to need to be wheeled out of this Korean spa. However, I have to say, all my tension and pain went away COMPLETELY after I left the spa. Her knuckles, knee, and elbows were very effective.
  • The facial afterwards was very pleasant. The cucumber mask did miracles for my skin! SOFT! SMOOTH! CLEAR!! Amazing. Then she finished up with a shampoo/scalp massage that felt wonderful.
  • Ann, the Korean woman who did this was no spring chicken. She looked to be about fifty and said she had been doing this for 25 years. She was very strong and even got up on the table to scrub and massage my back.
  • I asked how often people do this. She said some come every two weeks, some once a month. As this was the first time I had ever been in over seventy years, that seemed OK to me. She did say that even if you came the very next day, you would still have a lot of dead skin. Ick ick ick.
  • About an hour later, my body felt TOTALLY rejuvenated. All for $100.
