I am trying to keep my mind off of food. Not so easy. I love to cook and fixing good things to eat is my form of relaxation.

So today I made something delicious and non fattening. Cabbage soup. First I chopped up half a head of cabbage, half an onion, half a green pepper and some celery. I put a little olive oil in a big pot and stirred all this around for a couple of minutes.

Then I added a jar of homemade chicken broth and another jar of water. More stirring. Then a can of tomato paste and a can of S and W black beans. Salt, pepper, juice of a lemon and a tablespoon of sugar.

I simmered this for about two hours. This was my lunch. I served it over some leftover brown rice. Delicious.

Now to keep my mind off food for the rest of the day, I am reading a good book. Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner.

She is one of my favorite authors. This is a real chick flick of a book. Senator from New York has a fling with one of his aides. This is on TV.

His wife finds out by seeing this on TV. She is not too pleased. Plus he has two grown daughters and a young grandson.

Grandson says, “Why is there a picture of grandpa on TV, with his arm around that woman? That isn’t grandma.

When you hear about these scandals, you never think of the rest of the family.

When this book gets a little mushy, I switch to TV shows. My favorite flavor of the month is Sons of Anarchy.

This is a series about a biker gang and their lives. I started watching it quite by accident and now I can’t wait to get to the next episode.

Luckily it is available on Netflix streaming for seasons one and two. Season three is on iTunes.

Season four will be starting next month on FX. I plan to tape that whole season. As I have been watching two or three episodes a day, it will be torture to only see one a week.

Hopefully my ‘good girl’ diet will be drawing to a close, and I’ll be able to enjoy this whole season with hot buttered popcorn.

